Native Language Program » Native Language Program

Native Language Program


The Northwest Catholic District School Board is made up of 5 schools consisting of approximately 1250 students.  The Ojibwe Language Program is present in 3 schools within our board; Sacred Heart School in Sioux Lookout, St. Mary School in Fort Frances and Our Lady of the Way School in Stratton.  Approximately 150 students are enrolled in the Native Language Programs across the board.  It is imperative that TNCDSB ensure First Nation, Métis, and Inuit cultures are recognized and supported within our schools.
TNCDSB supports the Ojibwe Language Program, allocating additional staffing to allow Ojibwe Language Instruction to occur from grade 1 up.  Introducing outdoor classrooms and land based pedagogy to the Ojibwe Language Program as well as providing experiential learning opportunities help connect the language to the land.


Indigenous education remains a key priority for the Ministry of Education.
The Ministry of Education and school boards, working with First Nation, Métis, and Inuit partners, share the view that conditions for future success have been established through progressive collaboration and specific supports and that significant progress can be achieved.
The Ministry of Education remains committed to ensuring that each First Nation, Métis, and Inuit student has every opportunity for success. The ministry will continue to collaborate with district school boards, First Nation, Métis, and Inuit partners, and other key education stakeholders to build on the successes achieved to date.
Implementation Plan, Ontario First Nation, Métis, and Inuit Education Policy Framework, p. 19​​